Coordinating Committee

IRSG's Coordinating Committee of funders supports strategy-setting, governance, and recruitment and organizing amongst their peers in philanthropy. They represent trusted and aligned voices of philanthropic leaders committed to resourcing rural organizing work. The Coordinating Committee brings forth a diversity of strategies/issue areas of focus to guide IRSG.

Hester Dillon


Director, Indigenous Communties Program
The Schmidt Family Foundation/ 11th Hour Project

Olivia Trabysh


Philanthropic Consultant

Ryan Strode


Program Officer for Climate Equity
Builders Initiative

Sade Dumas


Director, Spark Justice Fund
Borealis Philanthropy

Vickie Walsh


Program Officer
Mertz Gilmore Foundation 

Movement Advisors

NFG's Integrated Rural Strategies Group (IRSG) launched its inaugural committee of Movement Advisors in August 2021. These Advisors deepen IRSG's work to increase philanthropy's accountability to rural movement leaders. These seven rural leaders reflect the powerful and broad diversity of rural communities, representing a range of geographies, issues, races, cultures, and more. What these leaders and their organizations all have in common is that they are organizing and building power in rural areas. Their work is core to building and preserving a true multiracial democracy and protecting the health, safety, economic opportunity, and ability for rural communities to thrive.

While IRSG and our partners hold existing relationships with each of these seven leaders, we are honored to formalize this year-long engagement by supporting these leaders with honoraria and providing a platform to lift up their work before philanthropy. IRSG will follow the Advisors' lead and center their priorities and strategies as we design our program offerings and resources.

Angel Garcia


Californians for Pesticide Reform & CAPS (Coalition Advocating for Pesticide Safety)

Brandi Mack


National Director
The Butterfly Movement

Eowyn Corral


Grassroots Co-Director
National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition

Fabiola Ortiz Valdez


Lead Organizer
Food Chain Workers Alliance (FCWA)

Jaime Arredondo


Executive Director
Capaces Leadership Institute

Juli Ray C. Joy


Black Joy Oregon