Catch highlights and quotes shared by participants during these sessions in our Twitter moment recap!

 

Screen Shot 2022-07-28 at 9.52.15 AM

Session 1: From Plantation City to NashVegas: How Nashville’s History Relates to Current Conditions

Monday, September 21
12:00 - 1:30pm PT / 1:00 - 2:30pm MT / 2:00 - 3:30pm CT / 3:00 - 4:30pm ET

Vonda McDaniel, President of Central Labor Council of Nashville and Middle Tennessee, and Tequila Johnson, Co-Founder & Co-Executive Director of the The Equity Alliance

To kick-off the learning visit, panelists will share how Nashville’s history stemming from a plantation economy connects to the current political landscape, geography, community development and labor issues in the city. Nashville is Klan country, and this reality is a very important factor in understanding how Black-led organizing has shaped the city. Through sharing the history, panelists will also share the successes of recent campaigns, including winning a stadium community benefits agreement and the Do Better Bill, as well as building a community relief and anti-gentrification organizing effort in the historically Black neighborhood of North Nashville following the March 2020 tornado.

Kick-off Happy Hour

Monday, September 21
2:00pm PT / 3:00pm MT / 4:00pm CT / 5:00pm ET

 

DJ CropTopTot at https://eyepissglitter.com/djcroptoptot

Session 2: Refusing to Be Moved & Shifting Power (Inside & Out): Building Black Futures in Nashville

Tuesday, September 22
10:00 - 11:30am PT / 11:00 - 12:30pm MT / 12:00 - 1:30pm CT / 1:00 - 2:30pm ET

Delishia Porterfield (Councilmember of the District 29 Metropolitan Council), Jason Freeman (Political Director of SEIU Local 205), Tequila Johnson (Co-Founder & Co-Executive Director of the The Equity Alliance), and Odessa Kelly (Executive Director of Stand Up Nashville).

Local organizations will join in a discussion about how Black-led organizing and power building in Nashville is advancing campaigns that illustrate the importance of moving resources to the Black community first and how inside/outside strategies support building power, influence and capacity toward just and equitable development, civic power and economic justice.

Session 3: Funding in Nashville: Don’t Always Give Money to the Loudest Person in the Room

Wednesday, September 23
1:00 - 2:30pm PT / 2:00 - 3:30pm MT / 3:00 - 4:30pm CT / 4:00 - 5:30pm ET

Charlane Oliver (Co-Founder & Co-Executive Director of The Equity Alliance), Tequila Johnson (Co-Founder & Co-Executive Director of the The Equity Alliance), and Odessa Kelly (Executive Director of Stand Up Nashville).

Philanthropic resources in Nashville prioritizes white-led and more resourced groups, leading to an outsized influence of these organizations in the city, and sometimes overshadowing the incredible organizing and power Black communities have built. In this session, panelists will discuss how philanthropy has shaped organizing in the city in both harmful and impactful ways, and will offer recommendations and a path forward for funders interested in supporting movement building and organizing in Nashville.

Event Details

When

September 21, 2020

10:39 pm - 10:39 pm

Where

Virtual

Cost

FREE

Posted 07/27/2022 in

  • Amplify Fund
  • Funders for a Just Economy