Overview and Registration

NFG's Integrated Rural Strategies Group (IRSG) invites you to join us for our third annual flagship event - the 2023 IRSG Multiracial Rural Equity Summit. Grounded in the histories, power, and self-assertion of rural communities, this event will showcase how rural communities have resisted and built power to move from resilience and toward abundance for all.

On the afternoons of Wednesday, January 25th and Thursday January 26th, funders and rural community leaders will come together to engage in stories, dialogue, and share and receive calls to action for how philanthropy can and should resource rural organizing as an integral funding strategy to address climate justice, land sovereignty, building a multiracial democracy, and more.

 

We encourage you to register for both afternoons if able, but you are welcome to join for whatever portion(s) align best with your interest and schedule!

Day 1: Wednesday, January 25th

11am-1:30pm PT | 12-2:30pm MT | 1-3:30pm CT | 2-4:30pm ET

Day 2: Thursday, January 26th

11am-1:30pm PT | 12-2:30pm MT | 1-3:30pm CT | 2-4:30pm ET

🌱 Planting the Seed for Continued Learning and Action 🌱

The 2023 IRSG Summit will offer:

  • Space for funders and rural community leaders to build relationship and engage in learning about how multiracial rural power is built and what possibilities it holds for progressive change;
  • An orientation to the work of the Integrated Strategies Group, including opportunities to join us throughout 2023 for continued connection, learning, and action;
  • Deepening philanthropy's accountability by exploring commitments and actions we can make collectively and individually.

These themes lie at the essence of multiracial rural power. What does this mean in practice, and how can philanthropy support this work, so these stories and solutions can create abundance for rural communities and beyond?

IRSG's programming, including this Summit, would not be possible without the following partners:

IRSG's Coordinating Committee:

  • Lisa Fasolo Frishman, Engage New York
  • Allistair Mallillan, Common Counsel Foundation
  • Domenico Romero, Universalist Veatch Program at Shelter Rock
  • Ryan Strode, Builders Initiative
  • Olivia Trabysh, Jessie Smith Noyes Foundation

And IRSG's Movement Advisors:

  • Jaime Arredondo, Capaces Leadership Institute
  • Eowyn Corral, Dakota Rural Action
  • Angel Garcia, Californians for Pesticide Reform & CAPS (Coalition Advocating for Pesticide Safety)
  • Janssen Hang, Hmong American Farmers Association
  • Julianne Jackson, Black Joy Oregon
  • Brandi Mack, The Butterfly Project
  • Fabiola Ortiz Valdez, Food Chain Workers Alliance

 

Please email Stephan Cheney, IRSG Senior Program Coordinator, with any questions. We look forward to you joining us!

Event Details

When

January 25, 2023

11:00 am - 1:30 pm PT

Where

Virtual

Cost

FREE